off the grid- vipassana meditation

So, today I will be leaving for a 10-day strict silence meditation course, camp I’m not really sure what to call it. But, regardless to say, I’m pretty stoked! This trip was planned while I was in India, and so something I was looking forward to experiencing when I got back. Now, a lot of people probably think I’m crazy for wanting to do something like this. I mean 10 days of no talking, no communicating, no writing, reading, nothing. Just 10 days of meditation.

Sure several of my friends have done the 10day course, but amongst the conversations I’ve had with other random friends, they know someone who has completed the course, and for them really was an enlightening experience.

Is it crazy? Maybe. But, if there is one thing I’ve learned in my 22 almost 23 years of living, it’s not to knock something you don’t know anything about. Every opportunity either given to you or seized yourself is a possibility for something really incredible to come out of it.

I’m not really sure what to expect. Mainly, I’m just worried I’ll be able to keep my mouth shut for 10 days (those of you who know me well, know I’m quite the chatter!). I can’t say for certain that I’ll leave the 10 day course with some new enlightenment or the answers to life. I am spending 10 days with myself. So, maybe I’ll learn something about myself I never knew before. But, what’s the point of holding these expectations, if in the end we disappoint ourselves.

People ask me if I’m nervous, and I can say that if this was pre-India, I would be freaking out. But, I am definitely more excited. My India trip was exactly what I needed to take on these crazy experiences. I am definitely more confident in myself, and have more faith in life post the motherland. That’s the amazing thing about life. Everything takes place exactly when you need it, and as long as we take things as they come, and be open to them, there is no reason to be nervous about anything that comes your way!

Open mind. Open door policy on life.

Alright folks, I’m off to vipassana. Here’s to hoping I don’t go crazy with the silence! I can’t wait to come back and post my experiences.

In the meantime, if you guys have any questions about the process, the course, whatever, want to know something specific about my experience, please post a comment, and I’ll respond when I get back in 10 days! Wish me luck 🙂

4 thoughts on “off the grid- vipassana meditation

  1. Schaeffer

    that is incredible. I would love to do something similar. I’d love to know how things went, and possibly how to have the same experience.
    Schaeffer

    Reply
    1. Nishita Post author

      Hey Schaeff! I’ve begun blogging about my experience. Be sure to check them out. Definitely one of the craziest, hardest, really incredible things I’ve ever had to do/did. check out the website: http://www.dhamma.org. Lots of courses offered across the states!

      Reply
  2. Great Ideas Project

    I hope you had/are having an eye-opening experience! The 10-day course I took a few weeks ago was at once one of the most difficult and rewarding experiences I’ve ever had. Looking forward to your update!

    Reply
    1. Nishita Post author

      I will have to agree with you that it was one of the most difficult/rewarding experiences I’ve had as well. Still not sure if I’ll be able to capture it all in words!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

