love bravely

Happy Valentine’s Day to all the lovers, dreamers, believers, and well-wishers out there (and everyone else in between)! Do you guys know the history of Valentine’s Day, besides that it is related to Saint Valentine? If you don’t, here’s the wiki page for it. Cool stuff.

Anyways, talking about Valentine’s Day and its history is not why I wanted to write this blog post. I wanted to talk about love. I came across this quote by Lao Tzu:

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”

I was really drawn to the part where he says that loving someone deeply gives you courage. The two abstract concepts of love and courage have never really gone hand in hand for me, and almost seemed like a juxtaposition if there ever was one. But, then, I began to think. It takes a lot to tell someone that you love them. And, I mean really love them, not just the “I love you!” you tell your friend or classmate who let you borrow their notes. I mean to tell another individual you love them.

I’m talking about that selfless kind of love, the love that doesn’t expect anything in return. Somewhere out there, at some point in our lives, we will be able to tell someone that he/she comes before you in every respect and manner. That I am willing to put myself and my wants/desires/ego aside because I love you so much that I would literally do anything for you.

Woah. That’s scary. To love someone. It definitely takes guts. And courage. And bravery, lots and lots of bravery.

But it’s possible. So don’t doubt yourself. And don’t let a fear get in the way. Being loved deeply gives you strength, but don’t ever be afraid to make that first step.

Hope everyone had an amazing Valentine’s Day! Love bravely. 

 

Leave a Reply

