abstract to concrete

The other day while journaling, I reread my New Year’s entry about all of the things I want to accomplish in my life (read my New Year’s post here, and how I’m redirecting my resolutions!). I don’t do this as often as I should. I also tend to forget things easily. What kinds of things? Mostly things I’ve told myself I’d do, but then forget to do them.

So, you can see how this can be a problem while I try to work on myself and my development, and really creating those incredible moments. I need a solution, and quick! 2013 is going by QUICK, and I need to do a better job of implementing all those life changes I want to instill into my everyday routine at a more successful rate.

I think it becomes an issue of taking these abstract concepts–our ideas, thoughts, wishes, etc–and turning them into something concrete. The steps we take are a definite concrete solution, but sometimes it’s the middle step, the step that actually gets us going, that is the hardest to turn into something tangible. I want to go there, but how am I going to get there?

For those of you who don’t know me, I love to craft. My best friend Rucha was in town this past weekend. Whenever we’re together (which isn’t very often might I add), we usually end up putting our creative juices to work and craft. This time, we were on the path to make dry erase calendars. So, we’re toiling away cutting paint chips and scrapbook paper to fit into the frames we bought, when half way through the arranging of cut pieces of paper, we look at each other in semi-annoyance and an exhausted state of mind (it was around 1am at this point, and needless to say neither Rucha nor I are night owls) and say, “how useful is this calendar really going to be?”. We both live out of our planners and iPhone calendars, that we really don’t need one more calendar, that in reality we’ll never really use.

But, we’re not going to just stop and call it quits. What can we turn these faux-whiteboards to? Got it! I am going to turn this into a way for me to write out my goals, accomplishments, and incredible moments. This is going to be my daily motivation to get to work. Because, as I’ve said before, LIFE TAKES WORK. But, when I’m sitting around on the computer all day when I could be doing something productive, I am doing anything but progressing.

I am so excited to start to use my “Goals Board” (sorry for the lame name…couldn’t think of anything else). I think tracking my progress in a way that I can see it everyday, and in concrete form is going to be a great tool to get me going.

There are probably a million ways to do this. Writing on your mirror every morning, keeping a calendar with all of your achievements, heck, there’s probably even an app for that! But, this is your life. We all have to personalize to what’s going to work for us! But, if you’re into pretty scrapbook paper and frames, this would definitely be a fun way to get started! Anyway to get that abstract idea to a concrete solution.

Here are some pictures of my goal board. Rucha did her’s a little bit different and created a weekly board. She made a block for each day where she’s going to do daily goals. Mine is more of a weekly thing, where I have lots of room to brainstorm/write out my ideas.  

Here's the entire board. Places for me to write my goals, accomplishments, and incredible moments of the week, as well as lots of space on the right to write quotes, shlokas, ideas, and anything else to help me out.

Here’s the entire board. Places for me to write my goals, accomplishments, and incredible moments of the week, as well as lots of space on the right to write quotes, shlokas, ideas, and anything else to help me out.

How to: All you need is scrapbook paper from your local arts and crafts store, tape or some sort of adhesive, and a picture frame that you like. Design as you please (mine matches my room)! Be sure to use a dry-erase marker or a vis-a-vis so that you can erase as you please. I think I’ll also be putting the important stuff I learn in my journal, so I can have a permanent reminder of how that week went. What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

