it’s the first day of spring y’all

Happy official first day of Spring! This is my absolute favorite season, hands down. Things are getting warmer, brighter, and just all around happier! (Not to mention, it’s the season of my birthday…just to make things even more awesome). I think it stands true that the weather change definitely brings about a change in the atmosphere, and in the environment that surrounds you.

So, this week I noticed a couple things that literally hit me. I didn’t realize or really pay attention to the details. First, I was sitting in our kitchen, and the blinds were open. It was a pretty clear day outside. I was having one of those moments where I was staring off into space, but all of a sudden I noticed that one of our growing trees in the background was sprouting green buds. This was not there the day before. It’s like it literally happened overnight. Then, yesterday, I was driving to work, did my normal work thing, and as I was coming home, I realized that the trees that line the entrance of our neighborhood were in complete full bloom. Okay, that for sure wasn’t there that morning.

photo (25)

the trees that line the entrance of our neighborhood; so gorgeous in the spring time!

It was so amazing to see the beauty of spring literally appear before my eyes. And I couldn’t help but smile and marvel at the amazingness of nature.

I think there’s an important lesson we can learn from this season. When I think of spring, I think of rejuvenation and revival. After being cooped up inside all winter long, covered from head to toe in sweatshirts and fleece pants and wool socks (or is that just me?), it’s nice to be able to breathe again. It’s nice to be able to literally take in fresh air. There is definitely a rejuvenation and a revival in me the minute that the sun starts shining a little bit more and the days become a bit more longer. It’s that feeling of “I’m going to conquer and take on whatever feat and whatever challenge comes my way.”

As the flowers are blooming, and developing into something beautiful, I am reminded of our own constant development. We are never the same person we were just two minutes ago. And as cliche and ridiculous as this sounds, we are constantly blooming into something more and more beautiful each day. And that is the beauty of spring–shedding off the layers upon layers of things and just stuff that is holding us back…the layers that are hindering us from achieving our goals. With the rejuvenation that comes with spring, we’re able to shed those layers and really take on the task at hand.

Who says resolutions can only be made on January 1? I think the spring time is one of the prime times to set goals for yourself and really get to work with them. You always have the chance to start again. So why not take a lesson from the nature that surrounds you? Everything around us is coming to life again. It’s time for us to come to life too. Refresh, revive, rejuvenate.  Happy Spring!

*The image at the top of the post is one of the trees that line our neighborhood. The perfect capture of spring in a photograph. 

 

Leave a Reply

