carry on

There’s been a lot of buzz around this whole keep calm and carry on business for the past year or so. Everywhere I go, I see some poster that’s taken the original, and turned it into something personal. “Keep calm and buy shoes”, “Keep calm and watch tv”. Shoot, if you go to Pinterest and search “keep calm” you will have an infinite amount of posters and sayings with the theme of keep calm. I think it’s become a little over done now. I get it, if anything happens, just keep calm and do something you like to do.

Did y’all know that this was actually used in Britain during the beginning of WWII to boost morale of their citizens? Yeah, it was created by the government. I think if we look at the original purpose and original message behind the “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster, there is a ton of value behind it; something that is very applicable in our own lives.

a scanned copy of what the original poster looked like

a scanned copy of what the original poster looked like

Has there ever been a time in your life where you are just so anxiety-ridden, it becomes the controller of your life? Personally, I am an anxiety-prone individual. I am super Type-A and a huge micro-manager. Mainly when it comes to things not working out like I planned (which rarely happens anyways), the anxiety kicks in. But, I panic. I panic when I don’t have control of my life, my future, whatever.

The past few months have been very much like this. I’m not sure what the next few months are going to hold in my life. Things aren’t working out like I had planned in my head. And it stresses me out. A lot.

When I saw this picture, a “keep calm and carry on” one, I began to think, it is so true. I just need to keep calm and carry on.

Sometimes I have a hard time living in the moments. I worry so much about the next day or the next few months and the future, that I don’t even realize that the entire day is done. Now, don’t get me wrong, I think there is a lot of value in planning ahead and preparing. It makes for things to be less stressful. But, when it comes to parts of the future that you can’t even control, why do I waste so much time behind it? It’s hard to realize this and constantly remember this, but, the only thing you have control over is the moment you are currently in. You can’t do anything about what happened even 4 seconds ago, let alone 4 seconds from now. So, why do we, or at least me, why do I allow myself to let anxiety over something I can’t even control, control my life?

Keep calm and carry on. Carry on with what you can control right now. You can control if you’re going to be nice to a person who has never rubbed you the right way. You can control what you’re going to eat for lunch. You can control how you are going to spend the 10 minutes of break you get during your work day or school day.

Keep calm. Keep calm and have faith that everything is going to work out the way it’s supposed to. There is a bigger plan for all of us that we may not be aware of just yet. Sometimes, we all just have to bite the bullet and take that leap of faith. It may be a big leap or a small leap. We can’t always have the reasons for everything at our fingertips. Sometimes, it takes a while to figure things out. But, we have to have that faith, and keep reminding ourselves that everything is going to work out the way it’s supposed to.

Faith is a topic that I can literally talk for days about. I mean, the last post I wrote was about faith as well. There are many times where I’ve lost my faith in myself, my family, whatever. But, it’s not hard to get that back. I think we’re all meant to be faithful people, to something, anything. So, if you’re ever in need of a faith boost, just open up a spiritual book, visit a place of worship, close your room door, light some candles, and just relax and focus on the moment, do some introspection. There’s always something that will renew that faith. But, most importantly, always have faith in yourself. Keep calm and carry on. We’re all meant for greatness. Keep calm and carry on until you’ve found it.

Have a happy day!

Leave a Reply

