breakfast smoothie

Okay, so recently I bought KALE. I had no idea what to do with it, but everyone had been talking about how amazing it is, I bought it. Here’s one thing I’ve done with it so far:

Breakfast Smoothie:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup blueberries (I used frozen, but fresh is always my first option)
  • 4 heaping spoons of plain Greek Yogurt (I use 0% Fage)
  • 4-5 leaves of KALE (not a lot, because it is a bitter veggie, and you don’t want it to overpower the smoothie and make the whole thing taste bitter)
  • 1/4 cup of any juice (or liquid) that you like (orange juice is always a good option, or coconut water is a great added boost of nutrition)
  • 1 scoop of vanilla flavored protein powder (optional)

We have a blessing of a Vitamix at my house, but with any other blender, blend until completely smooth. I had to go back and reblend longer than I usually do with my smoothies because of the kale. You want to make sure its really smooth, or you’ll be chewing pieces of raw kale, and that’s not the yummiest thing ever.

Enjoy!

talk about a green smoothie. disregard the background being my car!

talk about a green smoothie. disregard the background being my car!

*ps, word on the orange juice: Texas oranges are in season right now, and have GREAT juice. Go for natural orange juice, squeezed fresh, instead of store-bought. WAY tastier

Leave a Reply

