a reflective first day of may

The month of May is my favorite month of the year, hands down. Aside from it being my birthday month, it has been, up to this point in my life a very exciting time for me. From the last day of school, to birthday parties, to summer, dance recitals, and just all around fun, May has always been filled with so many amazing things that were always the best way to kick off the summer. It marked the beginning of family beach trips, seeing friends from around the country, and spending an endless amount of time doing things that I really wanted to do.

This May officially marks my one year anniversary of graduating from the University of Alabama at Birmingham and receiving my Bachelor’s degree. When I moved home, I was getting lunch with one of my friends, lamenting at how I just turned 22 and nothing exciting happens when you’re 22. The wise individual she is told me how 22 was the best year of her life. Looking back on this past year as I am about to start my 23rd year of life, I look back and think, holy crap, Katie P. was right. 22 has been one for the books for sure.

It has been a year of growth and adventure, and a year that I can honestly say that I will never ever want to replace or go back and “do again”. I’m not sure why I am so nostalgic today. But, I am thankful for moments like this where I am. During those moments I can look back at myself one year ago, and really honestly say, jeez I’ve grown so much. I am at a much happier and more peaceful place than I was a year ago.

When you want to be on a path of growth, you need to remind yourself as often as possible that it’s not an easy task. It takes aggression and effort. Some days are better than others, and some days you just want to lay in bed all day. And I did just that.

How often do you look back and see how far you’ve come or how far you need to go still? I definitely don’t do it as often as I should. Lesson learned. Thanks May for giving that to me. If you haven’t taken a moment to do that, do it right now. How ever much time you can spare, 2 minutes, 3 hours, whatever. Reflection is one of the most important tools on the path of growth and development.

Happy May everyone!

Leave a comment