I am superwoman

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I find it really funny how things come into your life when they do. Every day, there is some sort of subtle reminder of why you are here, or one that helps you stay focused on the path that you’re walking.

Yesterday and the day before I had a breakdown, and literally thought the entire world was against me. I felt as though nothing was going the way I’ve been anticipating, and all in all I was just really upset and frustrated. I even had to step out of work for a second to regain myself. It was just one of those days.

I had attitude of “I can’t do this. I’m no superwoman. I am just one person trying to get by. There’s no way that I can handle everything that is on my plate right now.” Basically, it was bad. I let it affect a majority of my morning, which unknowingly could have affected the people around me. I decided to succumb to what I needed to, and with a pouty face, I agreed to an option that I didn’t want to agree with. Whatever. I’ll make things work.

I got home feeling a little better. My students this week at summer conference are so great, and they helped turn my day around. I went about my evening doing my normal routine. But, when I was on my dad’s iPhone, I saw that he has an app that has a bunch of Swami Vivekananda quotes. I opened it and began flipping through all of the quotes, and I stumbled upon this one:

“The Vedanta recognizes no sin it only recognizes error. And the greatest error, says the Vedanta is to say that you are weak, that you are a sinner, a miserable creature, and that you have no power and you cannot do this and that.”

My, my, my, what a kick in the rear end. “And the greatest error is to say that you are weak, that you have no power and you cannot do this and that.” I realized that at that exact moment, God was giving me a boost of confidence. I am capable of handling everything that is on my plate right now. There is no “I can’t”. If anything, I am superwoman. I know it may sound a little snobby, but we are all capable of being superhero-like. We all have that power. We wouldn’t be where we are if we didn’t have some sort of can-do attitude (as cheesy as that sounds). I’m serious. I think back to everything that I have accomplished in my 22 years of life, and I realize that if I didn’t think I was a superwoman, I wouldn’t have gotten as far as I did. I wouldn’t be as proud of myself or the life that I am living if I didn’t think myself a superwoman.

I am successful and awesome. We all are successful and awesome individuals. We are not down-trodden. But, we can be our greatest enemies if we begin to believe that we’re anything but superman or superwoman. I am beginning to realize that our attitude and perspective on life is one of the biggest factors as to how we get by day to day. Are you going to live a life of optimism? Or pessimism? Because at the end of the day, even a glass half full of water, is still have full of air.

Happy Thursday!

One thought on “I am superwoman

  1. tonjareece

    I hear ya! On days when I feel challenged I remember I am a beautiful embodiment of the tree of life. I am connected. Trees weather so much and stand strong. They filter and give breath just like us. Sometimes our self doubts arise when we have forgotten ourselves and have forgotten that there should always be a balance in what we give and receive. No one said being a superhero was ever easy. Lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

